Logo
  Friday, October 30, 2020
Sign-In  |  Sign-Up  |  Contact Us  |  Bookmark 

Rescuers pulled a second body from debris following a gas explosion
Rescuers pulled a second body from debris following a gas explosion at an apartment building early Friday in the Krasnodar Region, south Russia, a local emergencies official said.

The body of a 20-year-old male was recovered at 10:20 a.m. Moscow time [7:20 a.m. GMT] three hours after the body of a 61-year-old woman was pulled out from the debris, bringing the death toll to two, rescuers said.

The explosion which occurred at about 5 a.m. Moscow time (2 a.m. GMT) destroyed three apartments in a two-storey residential building. Preliminary reports said the blast was caused by a gas leak and did not result in a fire.

Eyewitnesses had earlier claimed that another woman could have been in the building at the time of the blast. "According to relatives, people were in both apartments and they were possibly dead, it then turned out they hadn't spent the night at home," a spokesman said.

Some 15 people have been temporarily homeless. An investigation is under way.

A wave of fatal gas explosions in residential buildings in Russia since the start of the year has left 21 dead and over 40 injured.


Print Rescuers pulled a second body from debris following a gas explosion Bookmark Rescuers pulled a second body from debris following a gas explosion

Related News   
JanFebruary 2008Mar
MoTuWeThFrSaSu
28293031123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282912
3456789