Logo
  Saturday, August 17, 2019
Sign-In  |  Sign-Up  |  Contact Us  |  Bookmark 

Russia has successfully launched a Progress spacecraft on board a Soyuz-U
Russia has successfully launched a Progress spacecraft on board a Soyuz-U rocket from the Baikonur space center in Kazakhstan to deliver supplies to the ISS, a Mission Control spokesman said Thursday.

"The rocket with the Progress M-65 cargo module lifted off from the Baikonur space center at 23:50 Moscow time [19:50 GMT on Wednesday]," the official said.

"The Progress M-65 successfully separated from the Soyuz-U launch vehicle at 23.59 Moscow time [19:59 GMT] and is scheduled to dock with the International Space Station on September 13," the source said.

The module will deliver over 2.5 tons of cargo to the International Space Station, including fuel, scientific equipment, oxygen, water, food and medical supplies.

It will also bring the ISS crew the modernized Orlan-MK space suits for future spacewalks.

The current ISS crew comprises Russian astronauts Sergei Volkov and Oleg Kononenko, and an U.S. astronaut Greg Chamitoff. The crew is scheduled to increase from three members to six in May 2009.

The next launch of a manned Soyuz spacecraft to the ISS is scheduled for October 12.


Print Russia has successfully launched a Progress spacecraft on board a Soyuz-U Bookmark Russia has successfully launched a Progress spacecraft on board a Soyuz-U

Related News   
AugSeptember 2008Oct
MoTuWeThFrSaSu
25262728293031
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293012345